Governance at the Gardens

RBG Board of Directors (2017-2018) 

Royal Botanical Gardens, a registered charitable organization, is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprising community members and appointed representatives of four levels of government, and the Gardens’ Auxiliary.

Governance is accomplished by ensuring that the Gardens fulfills its legislated mandate, and that its mission, policies and strategies are appropriate and current. The Board also ensures financial responsibility in asset management, future resources, and capital project spending. In addition, the Board approves the Gardens’ annual budget, paying close attention to serving the public’s interest and trust.

The Board advocates the Gardens’ interests to the political and corporate sectors, and the community. Each member of the Board is committed to contributing his or her time, energy, ideas and support to Royal Botanical Gardens.

Officers of the Board

  • Ruth Lee – Chair
  • Cliff Carson – Vice Chair

Appointed by Council, City of Hamilton

  • Councillor Aidan Johnson
  • Keith Scott
  • Jiemin Zheng

Appointed by Council, Regional Municipality of Halton

  • Councillor Jane Fogal
  • Councillor Sean O’Meara
  • Gavin Sheppard
  • Peter Thoem
  • James Tourangeau

Additional Members in place of appointments by the Governor-General-in-Council, Canada

  • Kevin Brady

Appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in Council, Province of Ontario

  • Larissa Fenn
  • Peter Hargreave

RBG Appointees

  • Cliff Carson
  • David Conrath
  • Ruth Lee
  • Patrick Deane (Ex officio: President & Vice Chancellor, McMaster University)

Representing the RBG Volunteers

  • Deborah Harasym
  • Liason Member - Frances Neufeld